L04: Weekly Reflection

Oh what a week! This class is really a “Ready, Fire, Aim” class. I feel that everything is backwards and I am relying heavily of Google to fill in the gaps for me. I wish we had office hours first thing on Monday morning so that I felt a little more prepared for the week ahead of me. I just keep telling myself “fake it till I make it!”

What I have learned this week, you ask. Well, after spending the last two weeks trying to come up with a site builder/hosting plan, I finally thought I had landed on using Weebly for both the site building and hosting. I felt pretty good about it and was excited, until I watched the Office Hours for the week and one of the first things said was that it was a bad idea to use Weebly like this because it could get super pricey. All I could think was, “Ahhh, where was this advice a week ago when I was hashing this all out.” =(

I really wasn’t sure what to do until I was reading the discussion boards and saw that a classmate’s husband was offering to provide a host through cPanel, I could use WordPress as the site builder for free, and I would only have to pay for the domain name to start out. It was an answer to my prayers! And yes… I prayed and half cried from feeling overwhelmed by everything this semester. I’m so close to graduation, but it still seems so far away. I think that’s what is called senioritis.

Anyway, I bought a domain from Namecheap.com and now I’m working on finishing my site map for the site and gathering everything that will go onto it. I have enjoyed brainstorming with my husband about the pictures and such. I’ve also been doing a lot of research on my new chosen site builder and host.

“How will this class help those around me to develop?”I feel that the classmate who offered to help host my website fits into this week’s answer. I don’t know if I’ve helped her develop in the sense of knowledge, but I do feel that the help I needed in the class gave her the opportunity to help someone (me) in need. This develops love and compassion, in my opinion, and it humbles and strengthens my testimony in the power of prayer.

Leave a Reply

